The BJP, which won 25 seats in the Himachal Pradesh elections on Thursday, suffered a blow in assembly segments in the mountainous state’s Shimla, Hamirpur, and Kangra parliamentary constituencies. However, the party did well in the Mandi Lok Sabha constituency.
The Congress took Himachal Pradesh from the BJP, obtaining 40 of the 68 seats in the Assembly. On Thursday, the results of the November 12 assembly elections were announced.
The promise of restoring the previous pension programme proved to be a boost for the Congress, while concerns concerning apple producers harmed the BJP’s prospects in approximately 20 seats.
According to political commentators, people were upset by growing unemployment and inflation, and there was a strong anti-incumbency against the administration.
“Employees’ main demand is the restoration of the former pension programme. Furthermore, people are feeling the strain of increased commodity costs “According to a Himachal Pradesh University political science professor who requested anonymity.
The popularity of Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur aided the BJP’s victory in the Mandi assembly segment. The Congress, which won the Mandi Lok Sabha seat last year, was dealt a blow here, with only five seats out of 17 available.
Rampur (SC), Kinnaur (ST), Lahaul and Spiti (ST), Bharmor (ST), Manali, Kullu, Banjjar, Anni (SC), Karsog (SC), Sundernagar, Nachan, (SC), Seraj, Drang, Jogindernagar, Mandi, Balh (SC), and Sarkaghat are the 17 assembly segments that comprise the Mandi parliamentary constituency.
Unemployment, inflation, bad administration, and a lack of railway service from Una to Hamirpur were prominent challenges in the Hamirpur parliamentary seat.
People were also dissatisfied because Hamirpur was not represented in the cabinet and former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal was sidelined, which cost the BJP heavily. The Congress and independents won 13 of the 17 assembly seats in this parliamentary segment.
Dharampur, Dehra, Jwalamukhi, Bhoranj (SC), Sujanpur, Hamirpur, Barsar, Nadaun, Chintpurni (SC), Gagret, Haroli, Una, Kutlehar, Ghumarwin, Bilaspur, Sri Naina Devi Ji, and Jandutta were among the assembly seats included in the Hamirpur parliamentary constituency (SC).
Missing contact with the masses and neglecting the Brahmins, who form 20-21% of the voters in the region, in ticket allocation did not sit well with the voters in Kangra parliamentary seat.
The BJP was practically wiped out in the Shimla parliamentary constituency, winning only three seats, while the Congress won 13 and the Independent gained one.
The constituency includes the assembly seats of Arki, Nalagarh, Doon, Solan (SC), Kasauli (SC), Pachhad (SC), Nahan, Sri Renukaji (SC), Paonta, Shillai, Chopal, Theog, Kusumpti, Shimla (Urban), Shimla (Rural), Jubbal-Kotkhai, and Rohroo (SC), where 100% import duty on apples and an increase in production.