• Thu. Sep 28th, 2023

India vs. New Zealand 3rd T20I Playing XI: Sanju Samson to play in the final T20I

ByJosh Taylor

Nov 23, 2022

India defeated New Zealand by 65 runs in the second Twenty20 International at Mount Mangunai, taking a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.
India defeated New Zealand by 65 runs in the second T20I at Mount Mangunai to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series after the first match in Wellington was called off due to rain.
Suryakumar Yadav struck his second T20I tonne (111* off 51 balls), with 11 fours and seven mammoth sixes, to help India reach 191/6. In response, the hosts were dismissed for 126 in 18.5 overs. Here’s how the Indians look heading into the third T20I.
Pant’s difficulties continue; is there hope for Gill?
Rishabh Pant’s problems as a T20 batsman continued in the second T20I, with him looking uneasy throughout his 12-ball-six-run effort. It will be intriguing to watch whether the management chooses Shubman Gill to bat with Ishan Kishan. On top of that, the duo will include the left-right variety. However, Pant’s position as vice captain makes him the frontrunner to start the last game as well.
The paradox of the all-rounder
Whether it’s Axar Patel or Washington Sundar, India’s choices at seven appear to be limited. Sundar fell for a golden duck as the second wicket of Tim Southee’s hattrick on Sunday. Apart from Devon Conway’s mishit, the off-spinner took a thumping with the ball, losing 17 in his first over and finishing with figures of 1/24 after two overs.
Samson in for Shreyas Iyer and short ball?
Shreyas Iyer struggled with short-pitch deliveries again in the second T20I. Iyer was knocked out after going on the backfoot deep inside his crease, anticipating Lockie Ferguson to bowl short and fast. Sanju Samson, who did not bat in the second match, has been good against short balls and might be a viable alternative in India’s middle order.
With Williamson out for the third T20I, New Zealand may call up Mark Chapman.
Using 11 players
Ishan Kishan , Rishabh Pant , Shreyas Iyer , Suryakumar Yadav , Hardik Pandya ,Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar , Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Siraj ,Arshdeep Singh.
1 Devon Conway, 2 Finn Allen, 3 Glenn Phillips, 4 Kane Williamson, 5 Daryl Mitchell, 6 James Neesham, New Zealand Mitchell Santner, 7 9 Ish Sodhi, 8 Tim Southee 11 Adam Milne, 10 Lockie Ferguson

    error: Content is protected !!