• Thu. Sep 28th, 2023

New Zealand vs. India Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill give India a solid start in the opening ODI

ByJosh Taylor

Nov 25, 2022

Team India will seek vengeance against Kane Williamson’s New Zealand team in the three-match One-Day International series, which begins on Friday at Eden Park in Auckland (November 25). The weather appears to be clear, and the toss is set to begin on time at 630am IST. When India last travelled New Zealand for an ODI series, they lost the series 3-0 under Virat Kohli’s captaincy. For various reasons, elite players like as captain Rohit Sharma, vice-captain KL Rahul, former skipper Virat Kohli, and bowler Jasprit Bumrah have been granted a vacation this time around.
The Indian squad will face the Kiwis in 50-over format after winning the three-match T20I series 1-0. Shikhar Dhawan will captain the men in blue, while Kane Williamson will captain the Kiwis. Suniel Shetty confirms Athiya Shetty and KL Rahul’s wedding; read on for more information.
This series will be crucial for young Indian cricketers like Umran Malik, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, and Shubman Gill to establish themselves in the ODI format, that in India later next year the 50-over ODI World Cup will be held. Also, after the series against Bangladesh, the likes of Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, and Rohit Sharma will be returning to the ODI setup, thus Shikhar Dhawan will be under a little of pressure to preserve his spot in the starting XI in the future.
New Zealand, on the other hand, is in transition as Trent Boult, Ros Taylor, and Martin Guptill are no longer on the squad, thus it will be up to new players like Finn Allen and Devon Conway also Glen Phillips to rise to the ocassion and deliver.
A first match will begin at 6:30 a.m. IST at EdenPark Stadium in Auckland.
McLean Park’s pitch is well-known for being a batter’s paradise. Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan should have a good time batting on this surface. The bowlers should also benefit from the cloudy conditions that are forecast throughout the game.
Auckland’s Eden Park Update on the weather
There is a 25% probability of rain interrupting the play, according to meteorological reports. While a few showers are expected in the evening, there should be no precipitation. However, it will be quite humid, with humidity levels above 60% in the evening.
India and New Zealand XIs are expected to play.
India’s batting order is as follows: Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya (c), Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, and Yuzvendra Chahal.
Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (c), Adam Milne, Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand)

    error: Content is protected !!